Rails is coming, let’s go Ruby!

Here we are, week 9 is about to commence and the the mix of trepidation and pleasure are becoming very blurry.

We finished last week, knowing that rails is on its way. Rails, yes that thing that’s going to make my Ruby code come to life. At the brink of all that we have learned, it’s a rush of excitement to know that we will be learning how to put it all together and be on our way to really making website that I can show off to my friends and family! With that in mind, I spent my weekend reading up on all things Rails and doing my best to have a clear visualization on what Rails will actually do to my precious Ruby code. What I discovered were a few tips, tricks and concepts to keep on the tip of my tongue as we embark on this upcoming week.

Simply but, Ruby on Rails (RoR) is the framework that allows our many lines of Ruby code to be beautifully displayed as real, full-blown, website. We don’t want to show our users all the lines of code we did to execute a log in request, or to simply ask for their names. We just want our user to come to our website and have it automatically ask them. RoR gives us that powerful tool to make that happen.

What kind of world would we be living in if the user is seeing this?

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 4.30.28 PM

Instead of this? ( humor me here, and pretend the command line is the actual website! thanks 😉 )

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 4.30.37 PM

The beauty of RoR is that someone did all the heavy lifting for you, so you can focus on the big picture of your idea. Oh, and that someone is David Heinemeier Hansson. By heavy lifting, I mean that someone went ahead and built the process that will get your code to integrate seamlessly with all the different portals that it needs to in order to be a functional website. So instead of trying to figure out how all these parts will work together like a beautiful orchestra, we can go ahead and just use RoR, to do all this complicated work for us so we can really focus building our project.

There were many great blogs/articles that touch on the best practices of using RoR, and all of its conventions. If you’re a newbie like me, I’m sure you’ll appreciate this one specific article by Daniel Kehoe titled “What is Ruby on Rails?”. He does an awesome job explaining RoR in easy to follow terminology. Do yourself a favor a take a moment to read it.

Here is a quick snippet of the one of Kehoe going into how files will be structured on Rails Applications:

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 6.03.28 PM

I’m really excited to start working on RoR and be able to get my projects under way. It’ll be great to look back at the end of my journey with Flatiron and build upon my initial thought of what RoR actually is.

For now, I’ll leave you with my top 3 cool things about RoR to keep in mind:

  1. It will happily provide guidance into writing the code that you want.
  2. Ruby on Rails is full-stack – meaning it covers both front, and back end.
  3. Some of the biggest websites in the world are built on Ruby on Rails! Like who you ask? Oh you know just little ole Airbnb, Bloomberg, Funny or Die, Groupon, and Github..just to name a few. Check out a few more here.

As always, please reach out if you feel there is something I might be off on, always happy to get any feedback!

Leave a Reply

